Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Awards and Scholarships

Dance majors and minors at Emory are eligible for several awards, including scholarships for summer study, mini-grants, academic scholarships, and awards celebrating achievements in dance.

The Emory Dance Scholarship

The Emory Dance Scholarship is awarded annually to a dance major or minor who embodies the mission of the Emory Dance Program, including the following qualities: academic excellence and potential in dance, strong work ethic, and contributions to the program.

2022-2023 Recipient

Dominique Jones (double major, dance and human health)

Sheri Latham Emory Dance Scholarship

The Sheri Latham Emory Dance Scholarship is a merit-based award given to a major or minor who embodies the following qualities: technical focus, excellent work ethic, professionalism, compassion toward others, and an interest in supporting community.


Gabrielle Stearns (double major, dance and human health)

Sally A. Radell Friends of Dance Summer Scholarship

This award enables a major or minor to study in the United States or abroad with notable practicing artists, dance programs, and dance companies. In 2008 this scholarship was named the Sally A. Radell Friends of Dance Scholarship in honor of Sally Radell, the founding director of the Emory Dance Program, who also established the Friends of Dance organization.

Programs attended by past recipients include: American Dance Festival at Duke University, B12 contemporary dance festival (Berlin), Bates Dance Festival, Boston Conservatory, Broadway Dance Center (NYC), staibance Summer Intensive (Italy), San Francisco Conservatory of Dance, Tisch Summer Dance Festival (NYC).

Recent Recipients (2022)

Hayden Hubner - Paris Summer Academy at the Orian Theater

Previous Recipients (2019)

Aryanna Allen and Maria McNiece - b12 contemporary dance festival in Berlin
Jason Brickman - Earthdance
Clara Ofotokun - T. Lang's Sweatshop
Bella Ross - Tisch Summer Dance Festival at New York University

Emory Friends of Dance Mini-Grants

Established in 2014, the Friends of Dance Mini-Grants encourage dance majors or minors to research movement, somatics, dance writing, dance therapy, or health sciences at short-term workshops, conferences, and intensives.

Programs attended by past recipients include: Antioch College Dance/Movement Therapy Intensive, Ballet Chicago, staibdance Winter Intensive (Atlanta), Martha Graham Winter Intensive (NYC), Paul Taylor Winter Intensive (NYC), David Dorman Winter Intensive 9NYC), Broadway Dance Center Winter Intensive (NYC), American Dance Festival Winter Intensive (NYC), BDF/Gibney Winter Intensive (NYC), Vim Vigor (NYC).

Recent Recipients (2022)

Hayden Hubner - Staibdance Winter Intensive

Previous Recipients (2020)

Willis Hao - Ballet Chicago
Maria McNiece - Vim Vigor in New York City
Clara Ofotokun - staibdance Winter Intensive in Atlanta
Bella Ross - Martha Graham Winter Intensive in New York City
Fred Thompson - Paul Taylor Winter Intensive in New York City

Pioneer Award

Nominated and selected by Emory Dance Faculty and awarded to a senior who is “breaking new ground,” this award recognizes creative application and creative potential in the field of dance. It is defined by an in-depth investigation in technique, performance, choreography, or movement studies. Award recipients receive $500.

2021 Recipient

Aryanna Allen received the 2021 Pioneer Award for her deep visceral connection to movement, passionate execution of the craft, and fervor in shaping an innovative artistic voice.

The Sudler Prize in the Arts

The Sudler Prize was established at Emory in 1983 by Louis Sudler, a Chicago businessman, musician, and philanthropist. It is awarded to seniors who have made the most significant contributions to the arts at Emory. This prize, accompanied by a cash award of $6,000, is awarded at the College Honors Program each commencement. Eleven students from the Dance Program have received the Sudler Award, most recently Laura Briggs in 2019.

Woman's Club Arts Scholarship

The Emory University Woman's Club presents scholarships to students in the arts. The scholarships rotate each year among dance, film, music, and theater studies.

2021-2022 recipient

Hayden Hubner (dance and integrated visual arts co-major)

Stipe Society Scholarship

The Stipe Society for Creative Scholars awards an academic scholarship to six rising junior or senior students (one from each area of the arts) each year. Students are nominated by their academic departments and scholarship recipients become lifetime members of the Stipe Society. Stipe Fellows receive a $4,000 academic tuition scholarship.

2022-2023 recipient

Donalie Black (double major, dance and art history)